Happy Thanksgiving!


In September, I wrote a post about cultivating gratitude and how it’s so important for healing and wellness. Without gratitude, it is so easy to sink farther into depression, illness, and the darkness that life sometimes brings. Because Canadian Thanksgiving just passed, I decided to write a post about what I’m grateful for. This will be something that I can look back on when I’m feeling down or overwhelmed and hopefully it will be a source of inspiration for yourself.

  1. My family. I won’t sugar coat it: my family has caused me strife at times and have also irritated me on multiple occasions. However, my family has also stuck by me when life has spiraled and they have provided laughter, support, a safety net, and a home for me to come back to.
  2. My boyfriend.Β We’ve been together for nine months and it has been a whirlwind of excitement, growth, love, challenges, and adventure. I’m looking forward to what the future holds for us.
  3. My best-friends. I don’t have a lot of people in my “inner circle” and I cherish the few that are there. They have supported me, loved me, challenged me, kicked me in the butt, called me on my crap, encouraged me endlessly, and never judged me. It has taken a lot of effort to cultivate these friendships, but it’s been so worth it.
  4. Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. I am so thankful for where I live. IΒ love Vancouver. Sure, it’s one of the most expensive places to live in the world, but it is beautiful, progressive, safe, and filled with adventure.
  5. The acquisition of knowledge. I’m really thankful for books, google, science, archaeology, education, philosophy, art, intellectual conversation, brilliant minds, curious folks, and the like. As Sir Francis Bacon said, “Knowledge is power”.
  6. Human potential. My potential, your potential…I really appreciate that there is always room to grow and progress. We never have to be stuck in any given situation. I’m not saying that it’s easy to change or enhance our lives and well-being, but the possibility is always there.
  7. Animals.Β I am so thankful for all creatures, well,Β almost all creatures. (I won’t deny that I’m not a fan of creepy crawlies.) I get so much enjoyment and comfort from animals, especially my dogs. This earth is an incredible menagerie and I am so grateful to be a part of it.
  8. Nature. Along the same lines, nature is truly a mystical beast. I frequently find myself in awe and wonder at the beauty, magic, and ferocity of nature.
  9. Laughter. Humour is my coping mechanism. Without laughter, I would probably waste away. I’m really grateful for the people in my life that can make me laugh and also for the hilarious comics that are out there
  10. My career. I’m ever so grateful for the wonderful career that I have. I never, ever thought that I would become a care aid, but I’m so thankful that I took a chance on this line of work. For me, it’s such a fulfilling career and I am so glad that my work can make a difference for others.

So there’s my list! I have many other things that I am thankful for, but I thought I’d just write down a few. Now it’s your turn: What are you thankful for? Leave a note in the comments. I’d love to hear what you have to say.

β™₯ Michaela

Leave a Reply

